jump to navigation

Internet Librarian! April 26, 2006

Posted by nanette in Thoughts.
trackback

I received an e-mail today from Jane Dysart, one of the organizers for Internet Librarian 2006. My session has been accepted, and I'll be part of what Aaron calls "the cool public library track"! This means that I will definitely be going to Internet Librarian this year, and that Tim will probably be going with me.

The title was changed from "Pimp My OPAC" to something generic about OPACs and user experiences, but I'm sure I can still call my piece of the presentation "Pimp My OPAC." Yes, I did say "my piece of the presentation," because my session has been combined with a session co-presented by…Glenn Peterson.

Dude, I feel like such a poser. Lil' old me…and GLENN PETERSON, who is behind one of the nicest-looking, most usable OPACs out there. Glenn Peterson, whose presentation at the CODI conference last year opened my eyes to the cool things you can do with ugly ol' SirsiDynix HIP. Glenn Peterson, whose latest project has set the library weblog world aflutter, and for good reason.  

I'd better get a whole lot smarter before October. I've got to learn how to hang with the superstars!

In other-news-related-to-our-library-website, I got to see some mockups of possible site designs. They are great. Just…phenomenal. The web design firm the library has hired for the site redesign has really run with this project. We are on our way to an attractive, functional web site.

Also, I answered an IM reference question today. My shifts tend to be really slow (I'm on from 9-11 on Friday mornings and from 2-3:30 on Wednesday afternoons) so questions are rare. I felt like I gave a most excellent reference interview and I helped the patron find the information he needed for his school report on Lisbon, Portugal. Now I'd just like to get more questions…

Comments»

1. Greg - May 10, 2006

I love Jane to pieces, but how could she not jump onboard with “Pimp My OPAC?” Who wouldn’t want to go to that? So often, she ends up with the least appealing presentation titles imaginable, which is a shame. I’ll be speaking on…wait for it…”Searching the New Digital Formats.” Wheeeeeeeeeeeeee! See ya in Monterey.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

