jump to navigation

Internet Librarian, etc. October 20, 2006

Posted by nanette in Uncategorized.
trackback

So the last post on this poor, neglected weblog was written on April 26–almost six months ago. And it was about Internet Librarian, which I will be attending, um, starting this weekend. Craploads of stuff has happened since then, but apparently, none of it was interesting enough to write about.

And now I’m updating this blog so I can avoid tinkering with my PowerPoint presentation any further. Heck, I did call number checks to avoid tinkering with my PowerPoint presentation any further. I hate doing call number checks, so that’s saying a lot, I suppose.

The presentation is called “Perfuming a Skunk, or, There’s More than One Way to Skin an Online Catalog.” It is about how we tried to add a “skin” to our online catalog and why it just didn’t happen. I have not practiced it yet. I need to do that. Tim thinks it is going to rock. So if you are one of the attendees who is still working on their schedule, please consider attending. Yeah, I know it’s at the same time as the Second Life presentation, but your online catalog certainly deserves as much attention as your busty online avatar/altar ego/whatever. (I’m a Second Life skeptic. I feel like it’s one of those things we’ll be laughing at five years from now. I’m sure someone will be waiting for me at IL to seize my “trendy techie librarian cred card” at the door.)

I’m not entirely sure if I’m going to actually blog the conference, but I may put the blog up on the IL2006 wiki just in case. I’m going to try and remember the digital camera, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll remember to take pictures with it.

As a means of keeping myself from descending into “hide in my hotel room and watch One Tree Hill DVDs” mode (seriously, I did that at the CODI conference last year, although I think that’s acceptable since NOBODY at that conference wants to talk about ANYTHING other than Horizon, and after a long day of listening to Horizon-related sessions, that gets a bit, uh, dull), I signed up for a couple of dinearounds. My dislike of seafood is keeping me away from the blogging dinearound, so I’m going to “learning and training” and “digital strategies for the future.” Whee.

I’ll also be at the Five Weeks to a Social Library meetup on Monday (is it on Monday? I hope so) night. It’s like being invited out to party with the cool kids. (I will try not to pass out on the front lawn or barf on the couch or otherwise embarrass myself.) I’m presenting a webcast on blogging as part of the course, and I am very excited about that.

In other tech-related news, our new library website has launched, and it looks great. We didn’t get to do everything we wanted to do, but we’re going to continue adding enhancements, including a wiki featuring information for local businesses. I think that people around the library are becoming more willing to embrace new technologies, which is positive.

Also, I am trying to put together a preconference about social software for libraries for next year’s Illinois Library Association conference, which is in October 2007 in Springfield. So if you’re in Illinois (or near enough to Illinois that you’d be willing to come out here and present for nothing or close to nothing), leave me a comment or e-mail me. We’ll talk.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

